Long Walk- Part 11- Its Easier To Love Than It Is To Hate

As I came to the end of the book I really found myself highlighting everything on the page because everything that Nelson Mandela wrote had such meaning behind it. I particularly liked how he started to reflect on his “long walk to freedom” and all the experiences he had gone through. On page 475 he said,

“I learned that courage was not the absence of fear, but the triumph over it. I felt fear more times than I can remember, but I hid it behind a mask of boldness. The brave man is not he who does not feel afraid, but he who conquers that fear.”

I absolutely agree with this quote. I also believe that a person’s character can be defined by the way that person reacts to hardships. Nelson Mandela has shown tremendous strength and courage by the way he handled all the events along his journey to freedom.

Another issue that he addressed in his final chapter was the hatred people have for one another and how it is something that they were taught.

“No one is born hating another person because of the color of his skin, or his background, or his religion. People must learn to hate, and if they can learn to hate, they can be taught to love, for love comes more naturally to the human heart than its opposite“ (Mandela 457).

I chose this quote because I think it’s relevant to society even today. Unfortunately racism still exits, and the reason why is because that “mold” of a person has been instilled in those individuals’ minds a long time ago. It takes much more energy to reject someone and hate him or her than it does to accept and love.

Similar to South Africa during apartheid, America had it’s struggle against segregation and was able to overcome it. Both are free, independent countries where it’s citizens, after a long walk to freedom, are finally considered equals.

Leave a Reply

