The Little Things are the Big Things

Muhammad YunusOn March 6, 2013, Nobel Peace Laureate Muhammad Yunus visited Quinnipiac University. The event was very special. It was about how he wanted to help people become successful and stop living in poverty. Muhammad explained that he started off giving loans as little as $27 to people who needed it. After he grasped that the poor people gave back the money that he loaned them, he realized that something could be done.

He went to a nearby bank and asked if they could loan these people money, but they said no because they thought the poor people would never pay back the loans. Then he decided to start his own business by giving people loans and eventually his business grew.

Afterwards, Muhammad went on to talk about his feelings and why he decided it was necessary to help the poor people. He stated that he felt feelings of emptiness and uselessness. He wanted to try to make himself useful for one person each day. This connects with what I was always told when I was little, that “a little bit goes a long way.” People appreciate the little things in life more then trying to go over and beyond with things.
little-things

Dr. Yunus spoke about how there are problems today that are so big but humans are so small. I believe that this is true because there are so many problems and issues in today’s society and there are only so much humans can do to try to make a difference in the world. This is why if humans can do one little thing a day to help, then overall it can change a person’s life. I believe that any way of helping is the best way to cause change and the feeling someone can get from it is a great emotion. It can make a big difference in someone’s life.

imagesThis past year, I started to help more with the Relay For Life Foundation because one of my best friends who I knew throughout high school and now college fought cancer. While I was helping the Relay For Life Foundation I was thinking about how everyday she is a positive person and always have a big and bright smile on. She is the friendliest person I know and every time I am with her she makes me feel special. She knows how to turn someone’s frown upside down. Then I realized that everyone comes to her for advice for their problems because they know that she will listen and truly care.

But what about her own problems, she has bad days too, but who helps her with her change her frown upside down? So this year, she asked me to be on her team for Relay for Life and I said yes, but I decided I wanted to go beyond my comfort zone and try to raise money for her team because I knew this would be the best present she has received from me. I started my goal at $100, after 48 hours I raised $270 for her team. I knew she would love this, because her team is one of her passions.

Once I told her about my success, she did not believe me because it is something I would not normally do, and she was almost in tears because of the results that had occurred within 48 hours. Therefore, giving back can be a rewarding experience to yourself and to others.

Dr. Yunus raised some interesting questions about the purpose of being on earth. He believes all humans deserve to be helped so they can reach their own special dreams. So he asked himself, “why am I here? What am I suppose to do? And what am I supposed to do on the earth and how can I make a difference?”

I believe that we all are here for a reason and we all have a different mission in life, but we all have the same goal in life and that is to help and serve others. Changing someone’s day can spread positive to lead to a new growing community

Leave a Reply

