Outside Event- Hajii Otto

Hajii OttoBeing that I am in a sorority on the Quinnipiac University campus we are given the opportunity to go to events on campus that are for the Greek community.  Last week was considered Greek Week in which there were a bunch of activities and events involving all of Greek Life to be competitive; yet, it also brings everyone together in efforts to fundraise for our philanthropies.

One of the events we were given the opportunity to attend was a Greek Week Speaker named Hajii Otto on April 9th.  Lauren Saunders and I decided to go to the speaker together because we were free that night and decided it may be interesting if it was available to all of Greek life.  Upon our arrival, I felt very overwhelmed because the Burt Kahn court was filled with hundreds of students waiting to see whom this speaker is and what they have to say.  Eventually we all sat down according to which Greek organization we are a part of and patiently awaited the speakers arrival.

HAJii ottoHajii Otto walked onto the stage and told us that he was going to give us a presentation on how to relieve stress especially because he knows finals are coming up and the semester is dwindling down.  Immediately I thought that it was a huge mistake coming to this speaker, aside from being able to gain points that I need for my sorority requirements.  Lauren and I looked at each other and both realized that it was going to be super boring and we were both hoping that it wouldn’t last the whole night.

Hajii OttoHajii Otto started explaining ways in which we could relieve stress through pressure points.  When the crowd started to calm down from everyone talking to each other, I was able to actually understand what he was saying.  He continued to tell us personal stories about how he used to stress so much about his workload and how he found ways to cope with it.  I felt it kind of ironic that he was speaking to us about how to not worry about the amount of work we have to do, however, I was sitting there thinking about how much time I was wasting at this speaker that I could be doing work.

Although, I felt as if the presentation was a little longer than I would have liked, I am surprised I was able to actually get something out of it.  On top of being able to learn a few things, Hajii Otto was very entertaining and definitely a character. I am really surprised he was able to keep the attention of a huge crowd of college students for over an hour!

hajii ottoThe presentation got a little more interesting when he explained how the best way to relieve stress over specific assignments were to try and relate it to your own life and how it will help you in the future. Instead of stressing over the amount of work I had to do that night, I started to think about each assignment and how it will either relate to my life or enhance my life in any way.  It was a lot more difficult for my elective classes but for the classes that I am actually intrigued about it helped.  I was able to think about the work we are doing in the QU 301 South Africa course and be able to not stress as much because I know I am doing the work for a reason and that it is for my best interest.

3 Comments on “Outside Event- Hajii Otto

  1. I agree with Melanie 100%. When we walked into the speaker, I was thinking about all of the work that needed to get done between then and the end of the semester and I kept thinking to myself that this was going to be a waste of my time. However, when Hajii Otto began to give his speech and talk about all of the ways that it would help us in the long run, I began listening. He gave an awesome presentation and I am glad that I took the time to go and watch him talk even though I knew I had other things to do. He put things into perspective for me which has kept me more focused since then.

  2. While I did not attend this guest speaker, I probably should have considering how much I stress out about school work. Reading Mel’s post allowed me to gain some understanding in what was discussed during this presentation. By explaining some of the techniques suggested by Hajii Otto, I am going to try to incorporate some into my daily routine, in order to attempt to reduce some stress in my life. The one suggestion I found really applicable was how Mel explained how the more you try to incorporate assignments into your real life, by relating them to things that are actually important to you, the less stressful they will become. In addition, you’ll actually get a lot more out of the experience if you can take something meaningful away from it. Since all my classes are directly related to my major, I believe that this is technique I should really begin incorporating into my normal routine. Not only will it reduce stress, but it will also solidify and provide meaning to information that is pertinent to my future life as an Occupational Therapist.

  3. Hi there Melanie:

    Thank you for this beautiful article. It was a big gift to read your words tonight. I was a little afraid at first but was smiling BIG at the end. I’m so glad to hear that you were able to gain some valuable tips and practical stress tools. Your open heart and mind shows your maturity and wisdom. Thank you for opening your heart and sharing your words with others.

    I learned that passion truly directs your pathway in life. I see that you’re passionate with your vision and future. May you always follow that inner desire for success! Enjoy your adventures in life and celebrate it daily.

    Thank you again for making me smile! From the heart, Hajii Otto

Leave a Reply

