Outside Event: Bobcat Flea Market- An Opportunity to Share

On Thursday, April 18th, Quinnipiac hosted an Earth Day celebration in which our class got to have a table for the Bobcat Flea Market. This event consisted of Quinnipiac apparel, like sports teams shirts, or anything that had to do with Quinnipiac or the Bobcats. This year we were lucky enough to have been Bobcat Flea T-shirtsable to auction off a Frozen Four Hockey Uniform, as well as two Frozen Four sweatshirts.  These helped us make a lot of money for South Africa.  We earned a total of  $2,318.03 to go towards our service projects in South Africa.

This event really opened my eyes to what we are doing once we get to South Africa.  It never seemed real this whole semester; I knew we were going, but it felt like we were just learning about the country.

During the Bobcat Flea Market I felt like I wanted to push people into buying things because I wanted to make as much money as possible. Every time a new person would come to the table, looking interested in the apparel, I wanted them to ask

Libby & Lauren explaining the service projects to Prof. Debbie Clark

Libby & Lauren explaining the service projects to Prof. Debbie Clark

what we were doing and why, because I feel that it is such a good cause, anyone would want to contribute.

A few professors and prospective uniform buyers would speak to us and ask exactly what we were doing there and I felt excited to brag about what we are doing and who we are going to help.

I wish that we could have had more events like this throughout the semester. The Eli’s fundraiser was a

The class posing with the winner of the Frozen Four Hockey Jersey and QU Men's Ice Hockey Coach Rand Pecknold.

The class posing with the winner of the Frozen Four Hockey Jersey and QU Men’s Ice Hockey Coach Rand Pecknold.

great way to get the ball rolling with raising money.  However, I did not feel like I was truly emerged in the fundraising, until I was there speaking about our cause.  Once I found out how much money we made I was extremely happy.  The feeling of helping others is euphoric, and I feel that if this small event gave me that much joy, than South Africa will be a trip of a lifetime.

One Comment on “Outside Event: Bobcat Flea Market- An Opportunity to Share

  1. After reading Libby’s blog post, I truly agree with what she said about how it was an amazing feeling to explain why we were at the Bobcat Flea Market. Originally I thought people were just going to come up to the table but it actually put things into perspective to be able to explain fully what we are doing in South Africa and our reasons for doing it. Libby mentioned that there was a hockey uniform that we were auctioning off that contributed to a big chunk of the amount we gained that day and I was so surprised how people were crowding around waiting to offer a new price for the clothes being auctioned. I also agree with Libby in that I wish we had more fundraisers like the Eli’s event and Bobcat Flea Market, not only to raise more money but to be able to tell people what we are doing in our trip. People were more willing to help out and purchase items after we explained our service projects to them. I know that the more I speak about our upcoming trip, I definitely get more excited and ready to embark on this adventure. I definitely felt that I could relate to how Libby was feeling because if we are all looking forward to the service projects just after planning it throughout the semester then I can’t even begin imagine what we will feel once we complete them!

Leave a Reply

