So Many Emotions!

What I originally thought of about South Africa

One of the things I now know about

When I think about this semester I start to realize all that we have done throughout our weeks in class. We have watched multiple videos and done countless blogs, learning about the history and culture of South Africa- each one teaching us a little more about South Africa, and the world!

I remember when I signed up for this course thinking,

“It’ll be easy, all we have to do is learn a little about South Africa and then go on a two week trip to help others! Easy and rewarding! What else could I ask for in a class?”

But that wasn’t quite so. This class was harder than I expected and I learned way more than I ever thought I would. But I’m so glad that I did. With the trip only about a week away, I realize how amazing it is that we will be going down with all this knowledge on what has happened there and the struggles they have gone through and continue to go through.

Although I admit that I am nervous to go to another country so far away from my family and friends, I am somewhat at ease knowing I am going with the knowledge I have and a group of people that have never been before (besides our professors), so we will all be in the same boat.

So Many Emotions

I have many feelings about this trip, and in looking back I don’t think I thought I would be so full of emotions. I am anxious, nervous, excited, and overwhelmed all at the same time!

I am anxious to be somewhere totally different from my home and be lost in what to do, where to go.

Anxious to be meeting people of a completely different background than me and then potentially it not going over well.

And anxious about such a long flight.

I like to fly, but the fact that it’s about 18 hours straight makes me a little nervous. I’m also nervous that I will be somehow insulting their culture by doing something I know is normal in the United States but could be completely rude in South Africa.

I’m excited to be seeing so many new things that I would have never had the chance to see had I not been going on this trip and excited be going to a new continent!! (My goal is to visit every continent!)

And I’m overwhelmed since we just got our itineraries on Wednesday night I don’t really have time to look them over since its finals time!! There is just so much to think about and so little time!!

The 2013 QU301 South Africa class with all their suitcases filled with donations.

The 2013 QU301 South Africa class with all their suitcases filled with donations.

The trip is only a week away and I couldn’t be any more full of emotions than I am right now! It is going to be an amazing experience and one that I may never get the chance to do again! I am planning on doing everything to it’s fullest and putting my whole heart into each and every piece of this trip! I have a feeling it will be emotional, especially when we see the children from the orphanage and the kids at the school, but it’ll all be worth it in the end!

We are one week away from the trip of a lifetime and I can’t wait!!

4 Comments on “So Many Emotions!

  1. Hi Alison,
    Good luck on your trip….I hope to have my class blog with you…enjoy, be safe, and have fun!
    Marie Poelker
    Babylon elementary school second grade

    • Hello Ms. Poelker,
      Thank you very much, so far the trip has been amazing!! I am looking forward to blogging with you and your class as well!

      Looking forward to talking to you all soon,
      Alison

  2. Hi Alison,
    Now that you’re there are you still nervous? My 4th graders would like to know what was the biggest adjustment you had to make to visiting the country? Do the homes have running water? Televisions? Where do you all stay? Enjoy the adventure and when you can write us back. We’d love to hear from you!
    Thanks, Margaret McCaslin’s 4th graders in Jericho, NY

  3. Ms. McCaslin and Class,

    No, I’m definitely not nervous anymore, it is amazing here!! The biggest adjustment for me was probably just the time change (we are 6 hours ahead here in South Africa) and also getting used to understanding their accents, the language barrier is a bit difficult to get over because of the different accents.

    I believe that some of the homes do have running water but not all, and yes people do have televisions, but it depends on where you live within South Africa and the amount of money you have, and whether or not you can afford it.

    So far we have stayed at two different hotels and tomorrow we will be staying at the Lion Park!! (All will have running water and so far they have all had television)

    I hope all is well!!
    Looking forward to talking with you all again soon!

    -Alison

Leave a Reply

