Meet the Students: Danielle Scanlon

Image

Hello! I am Danielle Scanlon and a current junior psychology major at Quinnipiac University. My hometown is Sayreville, New Jersey where I spent my summers growing up at the Jersey Shore (one of my favorite places in the world).

During the summers I work at a day camp for children and adults who have special needs. Working with the children is what I live for and one of my biggest passions. My dream is to one day be a behavioral therapist for children who have autism.

Here at Quinnipiac,  I am a member of the Theta Theta Chapter of Alpha Delta Pi sorority where I hold the position of Alumnae Relations. I am a Resident Assistant working with the sophomore class and hold a job at the technology center on campus.

Over the past three years at Quinnipiac I tried to expand my horizons and try new things. Last spring break I took a trip down to Chatham County, North Carolina to participate in a Habitat for Humanity build. This was such a great experience, I became a family with a group of strangers and I took away many different skills and memories.

Being selected to go on this alternative winter break trip to South Africa was a dream come true. I have never left the country and it has always been a dream of mine to travel the world. To be able to go to a new country and experience a different culture, all while helping others, is the greatest opportunity I have received. What I am most looking forward to is giving the children a week long opportunity to have fun and be a kid, while learning. I am also excited to learn about and live in a new environment and culture.

As cliche as this sounds, I am hoping that my life is changed in some way. There are so many things that I will witness and experience in South Africa that will be different then what I witness here in the States. Through the different experiences I’m hoping I become a better, more appreciative person. I also hope to take away a family. Going on a service trip for any period of time with a group of individuals who care as much about the cause as you always brings the group closer!

Leave a Reply

