Meet the Students: Anthony DePasquale

OL“The best way to find yourself, is to lose yourself in the service of others.”

The great Mahatma Gandhi once spoke these words and they have surely stood the test of time.

Hello everybody, my name is Anthony DePasquale, and I will be chronicling my experiences and travels right here in this blog as I travel halfway across the world to South Africa.  I am a Junior here at Quinnipiac, and I’ve found that there is SO much potential for learning every day in and out of the classroom.

Outside of classes I am an active member of Pi Kappa Phi Fraternity, a Summer Orientation Leader, as well as an ambassador for the university’s undergraduate admissions department.  Each undertaking has taught me responsibility and perseverance that one simply can’t find in a textbook.

I was born and raised in Northern California, and at the heart of my upbringing has always been a constant awareness for service to the less fortunate. Outside of extra curricular sports growing up, I was partaking in service opportunities from a very young age through my local church’s weekend youth group program.

Once high school rolled around, I was immersed into the Lasallian heritage that my school, De La Salle, prided itself on. The school stood for three tenants: faith, integrity, and scholarship, and as cliché as it may sound, I still hold those values very dear to my heart to this day. I was fortunate enough to have an incredible high school experience, and took away many amazing memories with friends as well as the numerous service opportunities the school offered.

In my junior year, I was chosen along with 9 other students to take part in a service immersion experience to a city about two hours away called Salinas. While in Salinas, we collectively pitched in to help clean up the neighborhoods, plant gardens, serve meals, provide clothing, play with the children, and even had the opportunity to live a day in the life of the individuals who go to work in the fields before the crack of dawn every morning to provide the produce we so conveniently grab off the shelves in the grocery store.

Now that I am in college, I feel that every step I have taken and every decision I have made has led me here to this. I knew that I didn’t want my service efforts to be brought to a halt simply because I went away to school, and I am beyond thankful and very blessed to have been chosen for this experience. Traveling to the other side of the globe may seem like an intimidating concept right now, but I know that as the date draws closer and all of our fundraising and awareness efforts are in full swing, this anxious feeling will be nothing but complete excitement. I know that I can speak for all of us going along on this trip that this will surely be the experience of a lifetime.

The potential to change even one life at a time has a more profound impact than any other action could begin to fulfill. Here’s to the friendships already made, and those still yet to be had…

Stay tuned…

– Anthony

Leave a Reply

