Meet the Students: Andrew Larkins

DSC_0084

I’M ANDREW!

I can’t begin to describe how grateful I am for this opportunity, especially because of the absolutely awesome group that we have. I’m a senior Entrepreneurship major currently working on creating a property management company that I will start upon graduation … mark my words!

I’m from Guilford, CT where I have grown up working for my father’s excavation company. I commute to Quinnipiac and am becoming more and more involved in the business, which I plan to operate and expand after graduation as well. I also study Political Science as a minor; I love being informed about what’s happening in the world. Understanding how countries interact in our age of globalization fascinates me. I think I would ultimately like to become involved in politics because I’ve always considered myself a leader and I have a strong desire to initiate change towards a more positive and sustainable future.

So who is Andrew Larkins outside of school and work? Well, I am a super enthusiastic person. “Awesome” is my favorite word. I’m filled with positive energy. I love to laugh and have a good time. I think that a positive attitude is the most important aspect in life and I try to inspire it in others through my own actions.

Traveling (experiencing and learning) is my biggest passion. I spent a semester last year studying abroad in Wellington, New Zealand. It was the best thing that I have ever done for myself. I learned how important it is to travel and experience new cultures. I think that the more things you do and experiences you have, the moreIMG_0960 interesting of a person you are and that’s why I love challenging myself to get myself out there to experience all the world has to offer.

I am an outdoors fanatic. I live on the boat during the summer, and skiing on the mountain in the winter. You won’t find me playing video games or watching TV; I’ll be outside hiking with my dog or adventuring somewhere new. I think my energetic spirit is the reason why I want to be an entrepreneur because I can never see myself sitting at a desk behind a computer for an occupation.

My original interest in the trip was simply to travel to South Africa, but after learning more about the trip I am overjoyed with the opportunity to work with the children. The Tippy Toes Foundation is an incredible establishment and I am beyond excited to meet and work with Tamarin. My New Year’s Resolution was to be a more active member in service work, so it looks like 2013 is the first year that I actually fulfill my resolution!

I wish to take away the group experience of coming together as a team that brought one week of happiness to children in need of a helping hand. I know that I’m not going to change lives. I want nothing more than to put smiles on the faces of the children throughout the week and share a collaborative sense of accomplishment with everyone who will be working to organize the trip this semester.

One Comment on “Meet the Students: Andrew Larkins

Leave a Reply

