Meet the Students: Skyler Stein

Image

My Name is Skyler Stein. I am a Senior Occupational Therapy Major from Manalapan, New Jersey.

Over the summer, I work at a day camp as a lifeguard and swim instructor for kids 3- 12 years old. At Quinnipiac, I am a member of Kappa Alpha Theta Fraternity and participate in a lot of service events throughout the year.

Giving back to the community and helping those in need is what I have a true passion for. It is something that I have been doing since I was very young, which is how I learned that I wanted to be a pediatric occupational therapist.

Being selected to embark on this once in a lifetime journey to South Africa for an alternative winter break to make a change in people’s lives is incredible. Being able to help people is what I have and will continue to do for my career.

As a senior, I have had many classes on how I can impact someone’s life through the use of therapy. I am looking forward to applying my knowledge from all my OT classes and apply it to children and their environments that are going to benefit greatly from these services. Working with children is the population that I would like to work with, so going to help children in South Africa is going to give me an experience that will forever guide me through my career.

Having the privilege to go to South Africa and make a difference in children’s lives through the Tippy Toes Foundation is an opportunity for me to impact global change. I will be able to do something I love while giving back to those less fortunate than I.

I cannot wait to travel, be immersed in a new culture, and make memories with the children that will last a lifetime. This experience will be one filled with reciprocity as I help the children in need to make a better life for them, I too will gain an experience as I traveled the world to bring happiness and better quality of life to young children.

Leave a Reply

