How Far We’ve Come

It’s amazing to think that in less than 2 months from today, we will be in South Africa.  In my previous blogs I have touched on the various fundraising activities as well as the activities we have planned for the children, but what I want you guys, my readers, to keep in mind is the fact that each and every one of us going on this trip has demonstrated an outstanding sense of humble intentions.

AlternativeWinterBreak2014_dGoing into our first group meeting, I could tell we were all so overcome with excitement that we hadn’t really realized the impact we had the potential to make.  As our group meetings progressed, we all dove in head first coming up with ideas and collectively contributing.  Working with these fantastic individuals has brought out a fun spirited, goofy side in all of us, but we have every single intention of giving 100% of our hearts to the children in South Africa.

Of all the participants going on this trip, our social spread throughout campus is tremendous, and it has helped significantly with our fundraising efforts. I think what I love the most is the exposure it has given us.  When people ask me about the trip, my eyes light up, and people have told me they see that in my face when I tell them about it! When I’m passionate about something, I sure love to express it, and for an experience like this, I’ll go yell it from the rooftops if asked.

I want to leave you guys with a quote by Eleanor Roosevelt:

“People grow through experience if they meet life honestly and courageously. This is how character is built.”

2 Comments on “How Far We’ve Come

  1. good luck to you all on your trip. I am taking a QU301 class now, and I find what your doing for the people of South Africa wonderful. Helping others is something all humans should be doing, however this is not true. But as long as we have people like you guys the world is a better place. wish you all the success on your trip.

  2. I went a fundraising event and I talked to the people who are going to South Africa. I must say I respect what you guys are doing. Keep up the good work. Contributions like this make the a better place.

Leave a Reply

