Fast Forward 10 Years

“The finish line to living the perfect life doesn’t exist.  It’s constantly in motion, just ahead of our grasp.”

These were the words of Adam Braun, a former Brown University student who was able to give some shockingly helpful advice in just a few short paragraphs  While writing this piece, Braun had just turned 30, and he couldn’t help but look back at the last 10 years of his life.  He reflected on living in different cities across multiple continents, backpacking through more than 50 countries, and working his way to where he is now.  However, the powerful message that shines through can be summed up in just one short sentence:

“As soon as something becomes possible, you start thinking of what you can do next.”

When I heard about this trip, I jumped at the opportunity to see what could possibly be next for me.  I’ve grown tremendously over the last five semesters, and most of this maturation has come from my outside interactions with others and the realization that potential only stops where you tell yourself it does.  As cliché and overused as the statement of “The only limit is the one you set yourself” is, I’ve found it to be overwhelmingly true.  All of us as college students have many different dreams and aspirations, and I know that I don’t want to look back on my 20s and say I wish I had done more, but rather take a step back and say, “Wow, look at all that I’ve done, now what’s next?!”

As we inch closer and closer to this journey of a lifetime, I know that I’m going to be exposed to so many different learning experiences, and I know that this will be one of those ‘WOW’ moments.

A bit of advice from all of my readers that Braun passed on to me:

“You will screw up, you will be celebrated, and you will feel like a loser all in the same day.  But the people who succeed are those who dust themselves off and keep going because they’re not motivated by hitting their goals, they’re motivated by getting to a place where they can set new ones.”

Whatever finish line you set for yourself, no matter your age, know that it has the potential to move in so many ways and that only YOU can control where you go with it.

Leave a Reply

