Just Around the Corner

With exactly 5 weeks left to go, (not like I’m counting or anything!), I’m becoming more anxious than ever. I constantly find myself thinking of ways I can enhance this camp for these kids, ways I can make it more meaningful for them. The unexpected is always somewhat anxiety-provoking; I really don’t want to leave with any regrets. On the other hand, I don’t think any of us realize how life-changing this experience is going to be.

Last meeting, Peter had us read an article written by Adam Braun, founder of a non-profit organization, Pencils of Promise. The article discussed what Braun learned throughout his twenties, and gave advice to those younger than he. One of the most powerful quotes I took from his writing was:

“…the people who succeed are those who dust themselves off and keep going because they’re not motivated by hitting their goals. They’re motivated by getting to a place where they can set new goals that seem just as unreasonable as the ones before them once did.”

I believe everyone participating in our trip, or any similar trip for that matter, can uncover a vital lesson from Braun here. Don’t participate in these kinds of excursions to put it on your resume. Don’t go through an interview process, well knowing that you just want to cross a country off of your bucket list. Set goals for yourself, yes, but assure yourself that achieving these goals will allow you to emerge, a better, stronger individual. Make sure that with everything you do, you’re not finished. The most inspiring and dedicated people are those that never reach the finish line.

With our upcoming journey, we need to bear in mind that this trip does NOT end once we fly home to New York. If it did, we have not done our job. New goals need to be set and obtained; never slow down so much that you stop setting unimaginable goals. 

How many times have you said to yourself, “wow, that person is crazy” or “I can’t believe he/she did that!” The truth is, I’m sure no great achiever believed that they could, either. Set goals that seem just too far out of reach, step outside of your comfort zone, and you’ll be amazed at how far you can push yourself. You’ll be amazed at the person you find within you.

I can’t wait to see what I’ve got within me this time.

Leave a Reply

