“Every Little Thing is Gonna be Alright”

Hey everyone!

Guess what?!? T-minus less than 30 days until we set off for South Africa !!!

Going home after finals week means that I only have one semester left of college, but it’s hard to be sad about that when I am so excited to travel to South Africa, meet Tamarin and host the Holiday Camp for the kids!

At our group meeting two weeks ago, we found out our partners for all the activities. Mine is….. *drumroll please* DANIELLE SCANLON.

Danielle and I in Chatham, NC for Habitat for Humanity!

Danielle and I in Chatham, NC for Habitat for Humanity!

Not only is Danielle one of my Alpha Delta Pi sisters, but we also traveled to North Carolina together for a Habitat for Humanity Alternative Spring Break trip last semester! Our group for the camp will consist of 18 third graders!! I hope we can show these children the same love and that we form a connection that will last with the both of us.

I wanted to share this article that came across my newsfeed earlier. It’s called “19 Signs You’re Doing Better Than You Think”. With the holiday season right around the corner, I like to take a step back and think of everything I am grateful for. This list hit it spot on.

I can see the beauty the world has to offer.

I can read and write.

I can hear.

I did not go to sleep hungry last night.

I have a roof over my head.

I am healthy.

I have access to clean drinking water and medical care if I need it.

And I have the freedom to make my own decisions without having to fear for my life.

It’s okay if we don’t have all the answers, it’s going to be alright because we have the drive and means to make our dreams come true without people telling us we can’t.  I hope we can give hope to the children and give them advice on how to make some of their dreams come true as well.

Every Little Thing is Gonna Be Alright

Every Little Thing is Gonna Be Alright

I know with the “dreaded finals” next week, students and teachers alike are stressing out over all the work they have to do. But, we have to keep in mind how unbelievably lucky we are to even be stressed out because of our studies. Some people do not get this opportunity and would love to be in our shoes right now.

When I reflect on everything else I am grateful for, my friends come to mind as well. I am beyond blessed to have friends who are always there for me whatever time of the night and vise versa. I trust them with anything and they support me in my goals, are always there to make me laugh and never judge. I respect that honesty and I can tell already that some of those friendships are forming with the students in this group.

Until next time,

Jess

Leave a Reply

