“It always seems impossible until it’s done” Nelson Mandela

This Thanksgiving holiday, I am grateful for all that I have. Going on this trip in less than a month has reminded me to reflect on how lucky I am to have all the opportunities I do. I attend a great school, have supportive friends and family, and am very fortunate to be going on this trip to South Africa. My dad always tells me that I am lucky where it counts, and he is absolutely right. When thinking about the services we will be providing for the children in South Africa, it makes me appreciate the little things that I am fortunate to have. I am very lucky, even though at times when I may have my bad days, I have to remember I have so much to be grateful for.

 With our trip being only a month away, I am becoming more excited than ever. Last meeting, Peter assigned us to read an influential article written by Adam Braun who is the founder of Pencils of Promise, a non-profit organization. The article was about what he learned in his twenties. Reading this article, I realized how much his words relate to my experiences that I encounter in my twenties. As we are so close to embarking on this journey, it isn’t just an educational trip that can help land you a job one day, it is something that we are doing in hope to change the world. Going on this trip means to set goals and achieve them as we make an impact on the world and change ourselves for the better. This trip is just going to be the beginning of ways I make a change in the world. It isn’t just a trip that I blog about and forget about once its over, it’s something that I hope to carry on and spread awareness when I return back from the trip.

Adam wrote,

No matter how hard I worked, or how far I traveled, I always wanted more”.

This is the feeling I know I am going to experience when I get back from South Africa. After fundraising for months to reach our goal of $4,000.00, traveled 16+ hours and did an incredible service for those in need, there are still so many more issues that need to be addressed in this world. After successfully reaching so many goals, I know how capable I am to make more of a change in the world.

nelson-mandelaA year ago I could never imagine myself in the position I am in now; a month away from a changing lives in South Africa. But as Nelson Mandela once said, “it always seems impossible until its done”. And here I am, making the thought I once thought as impossible, possible.

Leave a Reply

